The Daffodil Centre
Close this search box.

Ovarian Cancer researchers recognised as pioneers and emerging leaders

Daffodil Centre researchers awarded at ANZGOG Annual Scientific Meeting
Experts across the field of gynae oncology convened at the Australia New Zealand Gynaecological Oncology Group (ANZGOG) Annual Scientific Meeting in Wellington, New Zealand. The meeting shares the latest developments in gynaecological cancer and provided education and capacity-building opportunities amongst members and industry personnel.

With a focus on “breaking down the barriers” that exist in gynaecological cancer, the 2024 meeting brought together experts in research, clinical treatment, and consumers to highlight opportunities to address inequities in outcomes. This included thought provoking presentations to improve outcomes for First Nations people from leaders including Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Indigenous Strategy and Services at the University of Sydney.

A highlight of this three-day event was the ANZGOG Recognition Awards announced at the conference dinner. Two Daffodil Centre researchers were recognised by their peers as leaders in the field of gynaecological oncology research.

Dr Nicola Meagher
Michael Friedlander AM Award
Michael Friedlander AM Award recognises an emerging early career researcher. Dr Meagher was recognised as an future leader in ovarian cancer research, with recognition of her contribution to the clinical guidelines for diagnosis of a rare histological subtype of ovarian cancer – mucinous ovarian cancer. Nicola was also awarded the ‘Best Pre-clinical Poster Award’ for her Daffodil Centre research on aspirin and ovarian cancer.

Professor Anna DeFazio AM 
Research Pioneer Award
The Research Pioneer Award recognises breaking new ground or introducing new ways of thinking for clinical or preclinical research. A ground-breaking researcher who represents what you think is the forefront of how gynaecological research should be designed to make a difference for people with a lived experience of gynaecological cancer.

Professor DeFazio received the esteemed Research Pioneer award in recognition of her significant contributions to personalised treatment for ovarian cancer through the INOVATe program.

Congratulations to Dr Meagher and Professor DeFazio on this well-deserved recognition of your significant and outstanding leadership contribution to ovarian cancer research.

The research on aspirin and ovarian cancer is supported by a Department of Defense Ovarian Cancer Research Program, Ovarian Cancer Academy Early Career Investigator Award (PI MA Merritt, W81XWH-21-1-0914). INOVATe has received funding from Cancer Council NSW, Cancer Institute NSW and the University of Sydney. Special thanks to all the patients who have generously participated in the study, and the INOVATe investigators who have made the study possible. The Fussell Family Foundation are supporting Cancer Council NSW and the Daffodil Centre Ovarian Cancer Research Stream.


Related news

Stay informed and up to date with our latest research.